On November 28-30, 2018, an international symposium was held in Hannover (Germany) with the participation of researchers on aging. The symposium was organized by Prof. Andrea von Hülsen-Esch, Prorector for International Relations in Heinrich-Heine University (HHU) Düsseldorf. This is the third research meeting held in the framework of the academic relations between faculty members of the Herczeg Institute at Tel Aviv University and faculty members of the Heinrich Heine University. This meeting was preceded by the Cultural Aging workshop held in Düsseldorf, 2016, and the Aging Well workshop held in Tel Aviv, 2017. This time, prominent aging researchers from other countries participated in this symposium as well.

The symposium included lectures from various perspectives on the subject of aging (ethics, ageism, arts, technology, the work world, dementia and therapy) as well as vibrant and enriching discussions on research, ethical, social and ideological questions. The symposium also included lectures of an artistic nature, which combined, in a unique and fascinating way, a discourse on old age, music and dance.

Tel Aviv University representatives in the symposium included Prof. Dov Shmotkin (School of Psychological Sciences and the Herczeg Institute) who lectured on "The Ethics of Pursuing Happiness in the Face of Adversity: The Paradigm of Aging," Prof. Silvia Koton (Department of Nursing, Herczeg Institute, and Johns Hopkins University) who lectured on "Active Aging: Back to Work After Illness," and Dr. Irit Bluvstein (Department of Nursing and Herczeg Institute), who lectured on "Self Ageism: When Aging Becomes a Hostile Experience."

symposium program "Cultural Perspectives on Aging" - Click here for more details

Participating scholars (in order of appearance):

Andrea von Hulsen-Esch, Stephen Katz, Dov Shmotkin, Chris Gilleard, Irit Bluvstein, Heike Hartung, Erin Lamb, Andreas Kruse, Peter Derkx, Daniel Schafer, Vasilija Rolfes & Heiner Fangerau, Hanne Laceulle, Oana Ursulesku, Nuria Casado Gual, Andreas Schuch, Susanne Martin, Emma Dominguez-Rue, Hanna Baro, Henriette Herwig, Lara Keuck, Shingo Shimada, Raquel Medina. Birgit Meyer, Mirko Sporket, Ulla Kriebernegg, Kim Sawchuck, Barbara Ratzenbock, Linda Nierling, Bettina-Johanna Krings, Peter Angerer, Hand Martin Hasselhorn, Andreas Muller, Morten Wahrendorf, Silvia Koton.

for more details about Participating scholars press hereParticipating scholars press here

participants hanover 2018